The Pete Walsh Critical Writing Award


The Pete Walsh Critical Writing Award is an annual award that is inspired by the late, esteemed IFI programmer. Pete Walsh, who passed away in December 2012, was a central figure at the IFI for 18 years, building an internationally admired film programme, and hugely enriching cinema exhibition and appreciation in Ireland.

The Pete Walsh Critical Writing Award is given annually to an outstanding piece of critical writing on any one film theatrically screened in Ireland during the previous calendar year (in this case 2014). The focus is on film appreciation and criticism rather than academic analysis and the winner receives a year’s free entry to films at the IFI. The winner will also be announced in the IFI monthly programme and the the winning entry published in full on the IFI website.

The closing date for entries will be 5pm on Saturday 28th February 2015 and entry is open to anyone resident in Ireland. There is a maximum word count of 1250 words, though the IFI anticipates many entries will be more concise. The focus is on film appreciation and criticism rather than academic analysis.

Terms & Conditions of Entry:

  • Closing date: 5pm on Saturday 28th February 2015
  • Word limit: 1250 (shorter entries are accepted).
  • Entries should be in the genre of critical writing rather than academic, although references/footnotes are acceptable.
  • The award is open to everyone resident in Ireland. 
  • There is no age limit.
  • The submitted entry must be typed, 1.5 spacing and 11pt font (any standard font is acceptable).
  • The entry should be accompanied by a signed declaration that the work is original, unpublished (both offline and online) and by the author. Any evidence of plagiarism will immediately disqualify an entry.
  • The author should provide a name and address and current phone number.
  • Only one submission per author will be accepted.
  • The decision of the judges is final
  • Entries should be emailed to: petewalshaward@irishfilm.ie

Judging Panel 2015:

  • Tony Tracy (Huston School of Film & Digital Media, NUI Galway)
  • Tara Brady (The Irish Times)
  • Kevin Coyne (Irish Film Institute)
  • Grainne Humphreys (Jameson Dublin International Film Festival)
  • Professor Neil Sinyard


The IFI is supported
by The Arts Council

Arts Council of Ireland