Irish Film Institute -International Film Directory – Film Listing

The Truth Commissioner

    • Director

      Declan Recks

    • Credits

      David Collins
      Kevin Jackson
      Eoin O'Callaghan

      Eoin O'Callaghan

    • Principal Cast

      Roger Allam,
      Sean McGinley,
      Ian McElhinny,
      Barry Ward

  • Category


In this provocative political thriller which deals with the complexities of post-Troubles Northern Ireland, diplomat Henry Stanfield (Roger Allam) has been appointed by the PM to lead the recently established Truth Commission. His attention is brought to focus on three men involved in the disappearance 20 years earlier of a 15-year-old alleged informer: Francis Gilroy (Sean McGinley), a government minister and former IRA member; retired policeman James Fenton (Ian McElhinney); and Michael Madden (Barry Ward), who has come back from America to admit to Roche’s murder.

As the investigation proceeds a series of inconvenient truths are revealed which threaten the stability of those now in power. In this exciting, reality-infused drama which builds to a powerful climax, director Declan Recks (Eden, Pure Mule) and writer Eoin O’Callaghan explore the elusiveness of truth and the complexity of reconciliation.

Notes by Sunniva O’Flynn

85 minutes, Ireland-Northern Ireland, 2016, Colour

The IFI is supported
by The Arts Council

Arts Council of Ireland