This film was released 9th April 2016, and is no longer screening.

Reuniting Bottlenote with the treasures of the IFI Irish Film Archive, Sound of Silents presents a new programme of silent films, dating from 1897 to 1970, accompanied by six musicians working between the fields of Irish traditional, jazz and electronic music.

Seán Mac Erlaine (woodwind/electronics), Seán Carpio (percussion/guitar/voice), Jack McMahon (turntables), Eoghan Neff (fiddle) and Shane Latimer (guitar/electronics) will improvise solo and ensemble accompaniments to the programme which takes Dublin city as its theme.

A selection of factual and fictional films, many not seen before in a public arena, includes the earliest moving images of Dublin filmed by Alexander Promio for the Lumière Bros in (1897); remarkable scenes of inner-city church-goers at St Francis Xavier’s Church and the Pro-Cathedral in 1901; a sweeping panorama of College Green in 1902; wry commentary on the streets of Dublin from US comedian Will Rogers (1927); a day in life of the Masonic Girls’ School in Ballsbridge (now the Clayton, formerly Bewleys Hotel) in the late ’30s; a rural idyll filmed by amateur enthusiast Conway Maxwell in Lusk in the late ’30s; and an enigmatic drama about a boy whose life is transformed at the Holy Ghost Youth Club in Dun Laoghaire in the early ‘70s.

Presented in association with MusicTown 2016.

Tickets: €12 (€10 Concessions).

Book Tickets