Irish Film Institute -The Pete Walsh Critical Writing Award

The Pete Walsh Critical Writing Award

The Pete Walsh Critical Writing Award is an annual prize that is inspired by the late, esteemed IFI programmer Pete Walsh, who passed away in December 2012 and who was a central figure at the IFI for 18 years. During his time at the Institute, he built an internationally admired film programme, hugely enriching cinema exhibition and appreciation in Ireland.


The award is given annually to an outstanding piece of critical writing on any one film theatrically screened in Ireland during the previous calendar year, in this case 2016.


The focus is on film appreciation and criticism, rather than academic analysis, and the winner receives a year’s free entry to films at the IFI. In addition to the prize, the winner’s name will be announced in the IFI monthly programme, and their winning entry will be published in full on the IFI website.


The judging panel for the 2016 award includes:

Tara Brady, Film Critic, The Irish Times

Gráinne Humphreys, Festival Director, Audi Dublin International Film Festival

Neil Sinyard, Emeritus Professor of Film Studies, University of Hull

Tony Tracy, Lecturer in Film History and Digital Media at Huston School of Film, NUI Galway


Submissions should be no longer than 800 words and should be sent to


The winner of the 2016 prize was Naomi Keenan O’Shea – you can read her prize-winning submission below.

Read the 2016 winner here.

Read the 2015 winner here.

Read the 2014 winner here.



The IFI is supported
by The Arts Council

Arts Council of Ireland